Jan Rupert Art Centre

Rembrandt in the Karoo

25 May 2023 - 31 May 2024

  • Rembrandt in the Karoo

The latest exhibition, entitled Rembrandt in the Karoo opened on 25 May 2023 in the Jan Rupert Art Centre, Graaff-Reinet. The exhibition focuses on the main categories of printmaking, illustrated by a very special selection and inclusion of Rembrandt van Rijn etchings as well as works by relevant South African artists and printmakers. In addition a small inclusion of international artists such as Alberto Biasi, Edoardo Landi, Joan Miro, Kathe Kollwitz, Pablo Picasso and Marc Chagall. The exhibition is on display until May 2024 (see exhibition hours). Entrance to the Jan Rupert Art Centre is complimentary.

Printmaking is often over-looked, especially in the company of disciplines such as painting and sculpture. The exhibition focuses on introducing the four main printmaking categories and some of each category’s techniques. The nearly 80 fine art prints included represents the categories of relief, intaglio, planography, and stencil.

Printmaking, specifically woodcuts, dates to the 9th century in China. By the 14th century printmaking made its way to Europe, leading to the development of more techniques. Showcasing the 20 original etches by Rembrandt van Rijn (1606-1669)  – from the Rupert and Rembrandt Art Foundation collections – served as inspiration for this exhibition and its title.

Rembrandt is known as a master of drypoint and etching under the intaglio category. The etches include picturesque studies of beggars, his wife Saskia, his acclaimed self-portraits, and his world-renowned biblical scenes. It is indeed a special encounter that awaits each visitor to be able to inspect and be mesmerized by the variety of tones and marks achieved on such a small scale.

Prints by South African printmakers or artist-printmakers represent the other three categories and artists included are Lionel Abrams, Marion Arnold, Deborah Bell, Gregoire Boonzaier, John Clarke, Douglas Goode, Hilary Graham, Feé Halsted-Berning, Philippa Hobbs, Robert Hodgins, William Kentridge, Azaria Mbatha, Karel Nel, Bonnie Ntshalintshali, JH Pierneef, Helen Sebidi, Cecil Skotnes, Penny Siopis, Irma Stern, Andrew Verster, Margaret Vorster, and Gavin Younge. The selection of the fine art prints is all from the collections managed by the Rupert Museum.